Gluten Free Carrot Cake

carrot_cake

For the majority of my life I’ve always hated carrots. I didn’t like the taste or the texture. My family also overdid it with all the carrot soup they made, which made a huge contribution to my absolute disapproval of anything carrot-related. Last Monday I decided to give carrot cake a try since there was nothing to lose.

To say that I fell in love with it is an understatement. During the week I obsessed over carrot cake recipes, trying to find the best one. When I came home from work, I pored over cooking websites and blogs, taking in everyone’s experience and reviews. Well this evening, that obsession has manifested itself into something tangible. Using the ingredients that I already have in my pantry, this is the recipe I came up with.

The result was a moist (perhaps too moist), light and spiced up cake. It pairs nicely with the whipped cream cheese frosting, which gives it a bit of a tang.

CAR_Raw

20150809_183320

Gluten Free Carrot Cake

Ingredients:

1 lb carrots (I used baby carrots), grated or chopped in a food processor
2 cups gluten-free flour blend
2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp ground nutmeg
1/4 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp ground cardamom
3/4 tsp salt
4 eggs
1 1/4 cups sugar
2 tsp vanilla
1/3 cup vegetable oil
3/4 cup walnuts, chopped

Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting:
2 8oz. cream cheese, at room temperature
1 stick of unsalted butter, at room temperature
2 1/2 cups confectioners sugar

Directions:
1. Preheat your oven to 300 F.
2. Grate your carrots or chop in a food processor.
3. Combine flour blend, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, cardamom and salt. Set aside.
4. In another bowl, beat sugar and eggs until combined, then add vanilla and oil.
5. Using a spatula, mix in the dry ingredients and fold carrots and walnuts into the mixture.
6. Bake for 30-35 minutes, or until toothpick inserted comes out with moist crumbs.
7. To make the frosting, beat cream cheese and butter at high speed until fluffy (3 minutes). Add confectioners sugar and vanilla, keep beating until well combined.

Car_frost

Join the Conversation!

