Gluten Free Chocolate Cake

IMG_20150729_120324

 

I’ve always found gluten-free cooking/baking a bit intimidating, mostly because of the ingredients, which can sometimes be hard to find. Not only that, in my mind I’ve always thought that all gluten-free or vegan desserts were hard. But ever since my awesome co-worker joined us at work, I feel more motivated to expand my horizons. Soon after I made the red velvet cupcakes, I began searching for a good gluten-free recipe using ingredients I already had in hand. I wanted a recipe that makes gluten free taste not so gluten-free. I found these on Food.com and made some slight changes. All in all, the only ingredients I had to buy were the GF flour blend and guar gum.

After these babies were baked and cooled down, I did a taste test and came to the conclusion that they were amazing. They were moist and not at all hard, like I expected them to. These cakes were not too sweet either, so it tasted more like a dark chocolate cake. I brought these to work the next day for my coworkers, and it was a hit! Needless to say, this is not the last time I will be making gluten-free baked goods. One thing that I would improve though, is to make the batter nice and smooth since they don’t rise or adjust to the pan as other cakes do.

If you are interested in trying out gluten-free baking, do try this recipe and let me know how it turns out. If you have any recommendations, I’d love to know!

Gluten Free Chocolate Cake

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups gluten-free flour blend
3/4 cup cocoa powder
1 cup sugar
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp guar gum
5 tbsp vegetable oil
1 tbsp vinegar
1 tsp vanilla
1 egg
1 cup of water

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 F.
2. Combine flour, cocoa powder, sugar, salt, baking soda and guar gum. Set aside.
3. In another bowl mix oil, vinegar, vanilla, egg and water together. Then add the flour mixture in additions until just combined.
4. Bake for 20-30 minutes in a 9 in. square pan (or any pan of your choosing), or until toothpick inserted comes out with few moist crumbs.

One thought on “Gluten Free Chocolate Cake

Join the Conversation!

