My New Job at a ‘Maker space’| Soft Sugar Cookies

 

This post is loooong overdue, but I do have a couple of reasons as to why I have been absent lately. Those reasons are as follows: 1) I have a new job and as of now, I have completed my third week and 2) I am learning a lot about some of the softwares I’ll be using extensively for work, so I’ve been focusing on that.

Let me tell you a little bit about my job. I work for the Department of Making + Doing in Philadelphia. It is what people call a ‘Maker-space’. Basically, it’s a collaboration space where people come in and make stuff. It’s a gym for innovators. At the DM+D (Department of Making + Doing) we have all sorts of equipments and programs i.e. 3D Printer, laser-cutter, vinyl cutter, woodworking shop, electronics station, etc that people can use for their projects, or just to create. We believe in learning by doing, or in this case, by making.

It’s amazing how much I’ve learned just from the first week I’ve been here. My job is more on the Marketing side. Hence, I do a lot of web development, social media management, advertising, etc. Lately I’ve been working on the website, and let me tell you, there is a lot of html going on. I mean, doing a blog is one thing, but doing a whole website based on coding is a whole other universe. So, please check out our lovely website: http://dmdphilly.org If you would like to learn more about DM+D, feel free to comment below! πŸ™‚

Let’s get started with the recipe, shall we?

During the holidays I made shortbread-like sugar cookies, since they work best for cookie cutting. However, this time I was craving some actual soft, chewy sugar cookies. I’ve used this recipe before and it had been a while since I used it, so here I go.

IMG_1543

 

Soft Sugar Cookies
Ingredients:
3/4 cup butter
2 cups white sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3 1/2 cups flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup buttermilk

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
2. Cream together the butter and the sugar.
3. Mix in vanilla and eggs into the butter mixture.
4. Whisk the baking powder, salt and flour in a separate bowl. Set aside.
5. Blend baking soda into buttermilk. You will see a little chemical reaction.
6. Combine the buttermilk and dry ingredients alternately until you have a creamed mixture.
7. Chill cookie dough for a couple of hours, or overnight.
8. Drop cookie dough by teaspoonful and flatten a bit.
9. Bake for 10 minutes, or until edges browned a little.

IMG_1553c

 

7 thoughts on “My New Job at a ‘Maker space’| Soft Sugar Cookies

  1. “MY NEW JOB AT A β€˜MAKER SPACE’| SOFT SUGAR COOKIES”
    Title of this post………………….
    PAST TENSE………..
    TITLE OF NEW POST……….
    ‘My new role as a business owner”
    PRESENT TENSE………
    TITLE OF FUTURE’S POST….
    “MY NEW ROLE AS A MULTIPLE BUSINESS OWNER”
    Future tense………

    Stephanie;
    Is it possible???????????????????????????????????

    Like

  2. Stephanie;
    First of all thanks a lot for coming back to the blogging world; Do you know how much I was missing your company? bu back of mind or from the telepathy I knew that, you are concentrating hard in your new job and whenever you will initially calm down the initial excitement, anxiety and apprehension you will post it.
    So, everything is as expected.
    Now let us come to the point…..
    First of all congratulation for finding the job,
    Congratulation for finding the job which in future can help you to build your business of blogging, as you know content creation, HTML, JAVA, AJAX, .ASP usage, constant up gradation of website, effective and timely presence in various social media are some of the things which will help to run your blog successfully in future; so, pay as much attention as much possible in learning all these things, initially, it may be difficult but somehow stuck with and with dog minded determination stuck to it, remember nothing goes in vain
    As per your instruction I have visited your organisation website, it is indeed good organisation, though, as a new bee if you want to suggest them something as a useful suggestion; suggest them their website page loading time is very high and suggest them to minimize as much as possible with the usage of various metrics.
    If they are positive people they will appreciate your suggestion, but if they are negative people will take it in a wrong manner, so, depending upon your own judgement use this suggestion.
    By the way, your recent update in your instagram profile, your image with the other lady is too good.
    My two recent posts are eagerly awaiting your presence, I wish, you will not disappoint any of them.
    Wishing you all the best…please stay in contact…I have very few good friends and you are one of them.
    Wishing you all the best……

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi swajithkas,
      Thank you for visiting my organization’s website. It does have a lot of coding embedded, which probably requires greater bandwidth. I appreciate your feedback. Are you perhaps familiar with html or Java? How have you been doing? I have read your posts and they are wonderful. Do give me time to respond back to them~

      Liked by 1 person

Join the Conversation!

