Let’s Talk About Music…and Strawberry Cheesecake

What kind of music do you like? What do you recommend for me? 

When it comes to music, my interests are eclectic across all the different genres and musicians. But if I had to choose only one genre, I would say that I’m an oldies kind of girl. I love Nina Simone, Etta James, Patsy Cline, Jim Croce, the Bee Gees, Everly Brothers, The Turtles, etc. Their music are timeless, have meaningful lyrics, and fills me with nostalgia. Sometimes I feel like I was born at the wrong decade.

If I had to choose a decade to live in, it would either be the ’50s or ’60s. Life seemed so much simpler back then, especially since technology wasn’t as advanced and people weren’t connected daily. I miss being able to enjoy each other’s company without checking a phone screen every now and then (yes, I do this a lot), I miss waking up everyday and not have to check my email (the first thing I do when I get up is check my email and plan my day), and I especially miss being able to live in the moment and bask in it. Now we live in a world where everything is fast paced and information is expired the next minute because technology is that advanced.

Sometimes, though, you just need to slow down and catch up with yourself.

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries.”
~ Matthew 6:34

My way of ‘slowing down,’ as you can tell, is by making desserts and spending quality time with my loved one. Today, I decided to go with strawberry cheesecake because, why not?

So, even though you may be having a busy week and a busy life, don’t forget to set aside time for yourself and your loved ones. Go have fun! Have a cheesecake!

 

Strawberry Cheesecake with Golden Oreos Crust

Ingredients:

For the crust:

  • 1 1/2 cup ground Golden Oreos (17 whole Oreos)
  • 1/3 cup melted butter

For the filling:

  • 16 oz cream cheese, at room temperature
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon orange blossom honey (optional)

Topping:

  • Fresh strawberries

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Combine ground Oreos and melted butter. Press the crumbs into the bottom of your springform pan (I used 9 inch pan). Set aside.
  3. Using your mixer, beat cream cheese, sour cream and sugar. Gradually add the eggs.
  4. Mix in the vanilla and honey until incorporated.
  5. Set your pan onto a baking sheet and pour the filling into the crust.
  6. Bake the cheesecake for 30 minutes. The filling won’t look entirely set in the center.
  7. Remove cheesecake from the oven and set to cool. Once the cheesecake is finished cooling, cover with a plastic wrap and refrigerate.
  8. For the topping, cut the stems from the strawberry and place on cheesecake.
2 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About Music…and Strawberry Cheesecake

Join the Conversation!

