Kale-Avocado Smoothie + Matcha Green Tea Snacks

kaleavocado

 

Happy Wednesday!

Today I wanted to do a quick post on this Kale-Avocado Smoothie that I’ve been loving this week. Kale has been a popular staple among vegetarians and vegans for quite awhile now, but this is actually the second time I have ever had it in juice/smoothie form. Usually, as in my culture, kale is cooked or sauteed. Never juiced. Or made into a smoothie. When I brought up the idea of making kale smoothie, my mom literally scrunched up her face and said “Yuck,” like it’s the strangest thing in the world.

I experienced my first kale smoothie about a year ago when I was visiting a friend for a dinner party. To be honest, I didn’t find the taste as appealing as I thought it would be. At the time, I thought that it was a bit overrated and there was so much hype around it. But it didn’t live up to my expectations. Fast forward to a couple days ago, when I randomly started craving it.

So I went to the store, grabbed a bushel of kale, and began thinking of something that would be good to pair it up with. It just so happened that I had one lone avocado sitting in my refrigerator, waiting to be consumed. Of course, I dutifully fulfilled that one avocado’s wish.

To make this smoothie, you will need:

  • Kale
  • Milk
  • Avocado
  • Bananas, frozen or regular
  • Sweetener (agave nectar, honey, stevia, sugar, etc) – I omitted sugars or any form of artificial sweetener because the banana was ripe enough, so it was a natural sweetener.

What to do:

  1. Juice it all up in your blender.

Easy peasy, right?

part2

Final Thought: This time around I ended up loving kale smoothie. It had a pleasant color, smell and taste to it. However, I did make it a little too thick, which is why it looked like what it looked like above. I should probably add more milk next time.

On a less healthy note, let’s talk about snacks.

What are some of your favorite snacks? Do you prefer something sweet or something salty? (Tell me below! 🙂 )

As you can probably tell, I prefer my snacks on the sweeter side. It’s not particularly healthy, but I don’t snack often either. It’s a bad habit of mine, but I binge snack during exam weeks. Then I go on a sugar overload and feel guilty for doing so. I usually end up promising myself to go on a diet and restrict my sugar intake for next time.

snacks

koalas

 

This week everything was Matcha-themed. I love how adorably packaged these snacks are (very good marketing strategy). Can you tell my favorite color??

If you’ve tried these before, what are your thoughts about it?

Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 6.18.37 PM

5 thoughts on “Kale-Avocado Smoothie + Matcha Green Tea Snacks

  1. Stephanie;
    As always one more wonderful post; there are many points; which needs special attention.
    First of all; presentation; as delicious and as tasty as the item mention above. Frankly speaking, I am not big fan of reading recipe or food preparation guide kind of post; but; your presentation style compel me to read it twice; so, thanks for improvising my knowledge about stuff like this.
    Second; “What are some of your favorite snacks? Do you prefer something sweet or something salty? (Tell me below! 🙂 )”
    Frankly speaking, I don’t have specific choice about snacks, because, I know there are billions of people; who are starving on this earth; so, whatever served in my plate, I eat it; with great gratitude towards GOD, yes, he has given me something to eat.
    Third; your favorite color must be green;
    “Green is the color of nature. It symbolizes growth, harmony, freshness, and fertility. Green has strong emotional correspondence with safety. Dark green is also commonly associated with money- Search from GOOGLE.
    Wishing you all the best…………………………….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Swajithkas,

      You make a very good point about eating with gratitude towards God.
      Indeed, my favorite color is green because it is “a color of nature” and “symbolizes growth, harmony, freshness”
      As always, thank you for kindly reading twice. I hope that life is treating you well~

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I must be honest that looks absolutely disgusting. lol however I have heard that these green smoothies are really good for you. Always been afraid to try. It is something I have always read but never really seen body try. Thanks to you I just may venture out and try it. I mean if you can do it so can I right? Its just I have a problem of feeding myself things that just don’t look to appealing and you have to admit maybe its the lack of milk that it came out so thick but I will do my part and at least give it a try. Special thanks to you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This weekend it’s my mission to make it again for a more visually appealing picture haha. It doesn’t actually taste as bad as it looks (as long as you don’t juice it up by itself). I hope that your first experience trying it will be better than mine! If you don’t like kale, you can use spinach or a similar-looking leafy green. Do let me know how it goes for you.

      Like

Join the Conversation!

