Weekend Warriors: My Saturday Night In feat. Blueberry Orange Streusel Muffins

Dear Readers,

As you can tell from the badge that is to the right, I am a part of this month’s Blogging101 with WordPress. We receive daily assignments, but the weekend ones are optional, I believe. So far, this week has been amazing and I have learned a lot from the assignments and browsing other bloggers pages’. Being able to interact with other bloggers really motivates me to keep up with my blog and to take it to another level.

To celebrate the completion of the first week of classes and Blogging University, I decided to bake up Dorie Greenspan’s Blueberry Muffins, with hints of orange. I also topped it with streusel, because streusel makes all muffins better.

tableset

For me, baking is more than an occasional hobby. It’s more than just a passion. It is a love affair. This may sound silly, but I love going to the grocery shop and sorting through various ingredients to find the very best one. From setting my kitchen mise en place to the creaming and the mixing, I find the whole process relaxing. However, the biggest anguish comes from watching my baked products baking through the oven window. It’s like time couldn’t get any slower. Other than that, I feel like I am in my element.

So, thank you @Blogging101 and fellow bloggers for encouraging me to keep baking and posting!

strudel

 

Without further ado, here is the long-awaited recipe.

Blueberry Orange Muffins 
Yields: 12 muffins

Ingredients:

  • grated zest and juice of 1 orange
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3 Tbsp honey (I omitted the honey)
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup blueberries – fresh or frozen

For the streusel:

  • 7 Tbsp butter, melted
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • scant 1/2 cup sugar
  • scant 1/4 cup brown sugar

Directions:

  1. Center a rack in the oven and preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. (Don’t forget to lower your temperature to 375F degrees if you are using dark-coated/nonstick pans)
  2. Butter or spray the muffin pan or fit the molds with paper muffin cups. Alternatively, use a silicone muffin pan, which needs neither greasing nor paper cups. Place the muffin pan on a baking sheet.
  3. Pour the orange juice into a large glass measuring cup or a bowl and pour in enough buttermilk to make 1 cup. Whisk in the eggs, honey and melted butter.
  4. In a large bowl, rub the sugar and orange zest together with your fingertips until the sugar is moist and the fragrance of orange strong. Whisk in the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.
  5. Pour the liquid ingredients over the dry ingredients and, with the whisk or a rubber spatula, gently but quickly stir to blend. Don’t worry about being thorough – the batter will be lumpy and bubbly, and that’s just the way it should be. Stir in the blueberries. Divide the batter evenly among the muffin cups.
  6. To make the streusel, combine and mix the melted butter with the sugars until they form coarse lumps. Spoon enough to cover the top of the muffins.
  7. Bake for 22 to 25 minutes, but adjust time as needed. When fully baked, the tops of the muffins will be golden and springy to the touch and a thin knife inserted into the center of the muffins will come out clean. Transfer the pan to a rack and cool for 5 minutes before carefully removing each muffin from its mold.

Blueberry Orange Strudel Muffins 🙂

A post shared by Stéphanie Tania (@stephaniextania) on

 

3 thoughts on “Weekend Warriors: My Saturday Night In feat. Blueberry Orange Streusel Muffins

  1. Stephanie,
    Your post created very sweet confusion for me; should I appreciate your recipe first or your writing; but, at last, I decided, it is your writing which simply deserve more attention than recipe, because, as I know your recipes are well admired by many; so, I don’t need to say anything more.
    But, some of the lines from writing deserve due credit;
    “For me, baking is more than an occasional hobby. It’s more than just a passion. It is a love affair. This may sound silly, but I love going to the grocery shop and sorting through various ingredients to find the very best one. From setting my kitchen mise en place to the creaming and the mixing, I find the whole process relaxing”
    I wish, your “love affair” with baking each day become more intense.
    As always wishing you all the best from bottom of my heart…………….

    Liked by 1 person

Join the Conversation!

