Pink Vanilla Macarons

IMG_0296

I have been putting off attempting the feat of baking macarons for a long time now. I first heard of these dainty cookies early in high school and when I tried one for the first time last summer, I was not impressed. Granted, I had bought it from a grocery store and that might have been why the texture was off. However when I tried one from an actual pastry that specializes in macarons, the heavens parted. Thus my research on macarons began.

I had been stalling in attempting the macarons mostly because I was afraid of how it was going to turn out. I have heard so many stories of people who had not gotten the feet, or whose macarons had stuck to their baking sheets, etc. The macarons were starting to terrorize me a little. But sooner or later, I knew I had to attempt it. After all, baking is always a challenge. You’ll never know how your goods will turn out. Once you stick them in the oven, you can only hope that they will turn out edible.

Nevertheless, my first attempt at making the macarons weren’t so bad. They weren’t perfect but I was happy with the outcome. When I saw the feet, I was overjoyed. And when I picked up a shell and they didn’t stick to my parchment paper, I got even more excited.

IMG_0288

IMG_0289

IMG_0293

Pink Vanilla Macarons

Ingredients:

  •       1 cup powdered sugar
  •       ¾ cup almond meal
  •       2 egg whites, at room temperature
  •       4 Tablespoons granulated sugar
  •       1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  •       Pink food coloring (optional)

Directions:

  • Sift the powdered sugar and almond meal, then set aside.
  • Beat the egg whites until it turns glossy and reach a stiff peak, and gradually add the granulated sugar. You want to beat until it’s stiff enough that you can turn the bowl upside down without anything falling out.
  • Fold the powdered sugar and almond meal mixture into the meringue and mix in a circular motion with a spatula, scraping at the sides. Add vanilla and the food coloring (you want to add a few more drops than usual because the color fades as the macarons bake). It is also important that you do not overmix. Mix only until the consistency is smooth and viscous, not runny.
  • Spoon into a piping bag, or a Ziploc bag. Pipe 1 inch circles about 2cm apart. When finished piping, bang the baking sheet on a surface to release the air bubbles, then flip and bang again. Let your macaron sit out for 20-30 minutes until it’s not sticky to the touch.
  • Preheat oven to 325F degrees. After letting your macarons sit out lower the temperature to 300F degrees and bake for 6-7 minutes.  Then, flip your baking sheet and bake for another 6-7 minutes. Let cool.

 

IMG_0295

IMG_0297

One thought on “Pink Vanilla Macarons

Join the Conversation!

